Wall Heath Cricket Club was formed in 1964 and disbanded during the late 1980’s. Recently former captain Bob, “Dickie”, Drake asked a few of the club’s former players if they would be interested in attending a re-union. Encouraged by the initial response Dickie set about contacting as many former players as he could. As they do not now live locally this entailed some detective work and he was able to track down nearly all of the surviving members.

The re-union took the form of a lunch, which was held at La Brasserie, Kidderminster on 15 February. We are talking cricketers here so it did not upset any plans for a romantic Valentine’s weekend as the ladies were also invited to the lunch. Lunch was booked for 1 o’clock and it was over four hours later that the management of La Brasseie agreed that we could claim the extra half hour before the party eventually dispersed with a unanimous wish that the “game” be reconvened in the not too distant future.

A most enjoyable occasion when runs were scored, wickets were taken and catches held and it seems true that the longer we talked the better cricketers and team we were.

Dickie thanked all who came and said that although we were perhaps not the best team in the area we were always competitive and what we did have, in abundance, was “team spirit”. Players such as Eric Edwards and the late Jeff Perkins consistently produced outstanding performances and both could have played at a higher level but preferred to stay with the lads of Wall Heath.

As well as those living locally Tony and Barbara Carter travelled from Macclesfield, Alan Darley from Sheffield, Mike and Sue Dobson from Devon, George Roper from Spalding, Brian and Josie Shepherd from Swansea and Alan and Pat Tate from Cheshire.

Sadly some of our colleagues have sadly passed away but we were pleased that Dot Bagley (widow of Bill), Jane Fasey (widow of Tony), Elizabeth Lilley (widow of Mike) and Sandra Perkins (widow of Jeff) could all be with us.

Other ex players who were traced but were unable to be present were Steve Ellis, Derek Waterfield and Alan Webster.